èƵ

Skip to main content

Our leadership

From academics to research, we benefit from strong, focused leadership across our 13 faculties and units supporting a student population of more than 21,000.
Blurred green leaves in the foreground with the stone exterior of Dal's Henry Hicks building focused in the background.

President

The president and vice-chancellor is the chief executive officer, responsible to the Board of Governors and to the Senate for the supervision of èƵ’s administrative and academic work. Thirteen presidents have led èƵ to date.

Chancellor

The chancellor is the titular head of èƵ, carrying out the ceremonial and official functions of the university. There have been nine chancellors of èƵ to date.

President's Executive

The President’s Executive is accountable for the coordination among the offices that report directly into the President & Vice-Chancellor.

Its role is to prioritize and accelerate key initiatives (often transformational, multi-disciplinary and / or cross-functional) that carry significant impact for the University, while modeling the values and behaviour expected at every level of èƵ.

Provost and Vice-President Academic
Dr. Frank Harvey

Affiliated offices:

All of Dalhousie’s deans report to the provost, as do three vice-provosts (Student Affairs, Planning & Analytics and Equity & Inclusion) and the two associate vice-presidents academic.

Dr. Alice B. Aiken,CD, PhD, MSc, BScPT, BSc

902-494-6513
alice.aiken@dal.ca

Office contacts:

Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building
6283 Alumni Crescent, Suite 231
PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3H 4R2

Managing director, research and innovation

Trevor Weissent, MBA, CPA, CMA, PMP

902-229-1294
trevor.weissent@dal.ca

Chief of staff

Dr. Martha Smith Brillant

902-494-1896
mbrillant@dal.ca

Senior manager, research & innovation communications

Andrew Riley

902-494-4148
andrew.riley@dal.ca

Manager of research awards & special projects

Maureen Keough

902-494-7706
maureen.keough@dal.ca

Executive assistant and special projects coordinator

Jeana Daye

902-494-6513
jeana.daye@dal.ca

Administrative assistant to associate vice-president research

Jessie Furze

902-494-3162
jfurze@dal.ca

Gitta Kulczycki

902-494-3862
gitta@dal.ca

Office contacts:

Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building
èƵ
6283 Alumni Crescent
PO Box 15000
Halifax, NS B3H 4R2

Chief of staff
Sarah Sherwood

s.sherwood@dal.ca

Operations manager and executive assistant
Florence Millard

Room 108
902-494-3862
florence.millard@dal.ca

Quick links:

Office contacts:

Coburg Place, 6389 Coburg Road
èƵ
P.O. Box 15000
Halifax, NS B3H 4R2
Phone: 902-494-8801

Executive assistant and office manager
Becky Merritt

902-494-8534
becky.merritt@dal.ca

Chief of staff and executive director, administration
Kate Somers

902-494-5138
kate.somers@dal.ca

Grace Jefferies-Aldridge

gjefferi@dal.ca

Affiliated offices:

Erin Stewart-Reid

902-494-1225
erin@dal.ca

Quick links:

Vice-provosts, associate, and assistant vice-presidents

Our vice-provosts and associate and assistant vice-presidents oversee the operations of the university as established by the university's strategic plan.

Associate vice-president, academic

Dr. Leslie Phillmore

avpa@dal.ca

University registrar and assistant vice-president, enrolment management

Adam Robertson

adam.robertson@dal.ca

Vice-provost, equity and inclusion

Dr. Theresa Rajack-Talley

902-494-1920
theresa.rajack-talley@dal.ca

Assistant vice‑provost, equity and inclusion

Dr. Barb Hamilton-Hinch

b.hamilton-hinch@dal.ca

Vice-provost, student affairs

Assistant vice-provost, student engagement and èƵ

Assistant vice-provost, campus living and student wellbeing

Melissa MacKay

melissa.mackay@dal.ca

Vice-provost, planning and analytics

Assistant vice-provost, planning and strategy

Associate vice-president, research

Assistant vice-president, research services

Assistant vice-president, innovation and entrepreneurship

Assistant vice-president, industry relations, Office of Commercialization and Industry Engagement

Chief financial officer and assistant vice-president, financial services

Assistant vice-president, facilities management (acting)

Chief information officer and assistant vice-president of information technology

Jody Couch

jcouch@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, ancillary services (acting)

Assistant vice-president, housing and conference services (acting)

Linda Parker

linda.parker@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, development

Assistant vice-president, alumni & external engagement (acting)

Associate vice-president, global relations

Balakrishnan Prithiviraj, PhD

bprithiviraj@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, communications, marketing, and creative services

General Counsel and University Secretary

Deans

Deans are among the senior academic and administrative leaders of the university. They are the academic and administrative leaders of their Faculties. Both as academics and as managers, they provide models of performance and behaviour for their colleagues.

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall conduct, management, administration and control of the property, revenue and business of the university.

Senate

The Senate is responsible for the approval of new programs and the granting of degrees and diplomas, setting academic regulations and establishing the academic calendar.

Dalhousie Advisory Council

The Dalhousie Advisory Council provides the president with international strategic counsel on issues that may impact the university, on the development and evaluation of its strategic directions and more.